Winter Reads

High 31, partly cloudy

Snow keeps falling here in New England.  Since it’s been wicked cold lately, I have been reading more than usual.  I thought this would be a good time to make a list of some of my favorite books and some most recent reads. 

All Things Great and Small, James Herriot- I just finished this heart-warming and humourous account of a veterinary surgeon in England in the 1930s. 

The Web of Life, Fritjof Capra- I am currently reading this book about systems biology.  This is not a light read. 

The Unsettling of America, Wendell Berry- Every once in a while I pick this book back up and read a chapter or two.  Berry is passionate about the land, and this book is one of his best.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle; Barbara Kingsolver- I didn’t think I would like this book because it came at a time when everyone was talking “locavore,” but by the end I loved it.  There’s a great mozarella recipe in this book too, for those who want to try something new.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan- An elegant account of our food systems.  I recommend this over his shorter work, In Defense of Food.

Silent Spring, Rachel Carson- A must read for anyone in my field, and one of my favorite all-time books.  This book brings chemistry to life!

A Sand County Almanac, Aldo Leopold- This book can change your life.  It made me look at sunrises in a whole different way!

Living the Good Life, Helen and Scott Nearing- The authors describe how they went off-grid in the 1930s!  Vegan.  In Vermont.

Living on the Earth, Alicia Bay Laurel- A general how-to book for homesteading or communal living.

Walden, Henry David Thoreau- I bought my first copy new for $3 in high school, and I still have it!

Luminous Fish, Lynn Margulis- In this work, Margulis humanizes scientists and shows that they are more than their research.  We also see that Margulis is more than her own work!

Okay, that’s the short list.  Just in time for the spring semester!

About sagelacroix

I'm an adjunct Biology instructor at Holyoke Community College in Western Mass. But I'm also an avid knitter, hiker, cook and gardener. I don't really know why I'm starting this blog, but meaning will come...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment